Asian-Style Marinated Grilled Pork Tenderloin

IMG_9423

Every summer I get just a little bit closer to mastering the grill. It’s like I’m slowly accruing experience points and when I made this pork tenderloin, it felt like a level up. Yes, I use this analogy quite often. No, I will not stop. That’s exactly what it felt like! It was perfectly cooked, guys. I took a bunch of pictures, but then I had to replace my phone, so I guess you’ll have to take my word for it. I made this with the intention of putting it in a pork fried rice (as in, it wouldn’t matter if I over-cooked it), but we ended up making a main dish out of it, using the leftovers for the fried rice. I highly recommend either way.

Asian-Style Marinated Grilled Pork Tenderloin

Ingredients

  • Pork tenderloin
  • 1/2 cup rice vinegar
  • 1/2 cup soy sauce
  • 1 Tbs sambal olek (or a chili sauce)
  • 2 Tbs Chinese black vinegar
  • 1 Tbs sesame oil

Method

  1. Combine rice vinegar, soy sauce, sambal, black vinegar, and sesame oil in a large zip-top bag. Seal it, shake it, mush it, whatever, mix it up.
  2. Take the pork T out of the packaging, making sure you clean off the silver skin if it has it. In the words of one of my heroes, “That’s not good eats.” Place the pork T in the bag, seal it, put in a bowl (to prevent spills or accidents, you know) and pop in the fridge for an hour or two.
  3. When it’s ready, fire up the grill on fairly high heat, let it get hot. Cook the pork on each side for about 8-12 minutes. I have learned that cooking on the grill is not, and will probably never be, an exact science. Try to roll it around, getting that nice char all over it. If you’re not sure if it’s done, poke it gently with a blunt object. I use the end of my tongs. You want a little give to it, but if it squishes pretty easily, it’s probably not done. Or you can do what normal people do and use a meat thermometer šŸ™‚
  4. Let it rest for about 10 minutes (it keeps the juices in) before slicing for serving.

Do you grill? Do you have any other tips for grilling large chunks of animal flesh? Let me know in the comments!

Leave a Reply

